Schengen Visas for South Africans Travelling to Europe

Schengen Visas for South Africans Travelling to Europe
Schengen Visas for South Africans Travelling to Europe

Intergate, in conjunction with our travel visa partner, offers a bespoke  Schengen visa service that provides advice, compilation of the application, submission and return.

What is a Schengen visa?

Schengen Visa is required by non-EEA nationals wishing to enter the EU for short-term stays not involving employment or self employed activity.

Schengen visas are a participative visa that allow for the free movement of visitors to certain European countries, they are in effect very similar to mist of other countries visas in so much that they allow for people to enter and leave participating countries in Europe for specific periods of time for a specific purpose and then return to their own country.

For which countries can I apply for a Schengen Visa?

At present, the following countries participate in the scheme. Please note that visits to Ireland and the UK are not covered within Schengen visas.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland


How do Schengen Visas work?

Schengen visas have made travelling between European countries much easier. The holder of a Schengen visa can travel to any or all of the participating countries using just one single visa. These means the expense and hassle of obtaining a visa for each country is eliminated. This is of particular advantage to a visitor wishing to travel to more than one European country.

For what purposes can I obtain a Schengen Visa?

When applying for a Schengen visa the purposes must be leisure, tourism or business. Applications generally fall under 3 categories:

Airport Transit visas – This Schengen visa allows for travel through but not entry. In other words holders can travel through the international transit zone in a Schengen country nation on the way to their final destination, but are not allowed to enter the territory of the country.

Transit Visas – This Schengen visa allows the holder to travel through the territory of Schengen member nations en route to a final destination for a period no longer than than five days.

Short Stay visas – These are commonly referred to as travel visas, business visas or tourist visas and allow for multiple entry by an non-EEA national for a period of up to 90 days.

Can I obtain a multiple Schengen visa?

A multiple entry Schengen visa will allow the holder several entries into the Schengen area, allowing you to exit the Schengen region and then re-enter the Schengen region at a later date.

Not all embassies issue multiple entry visas some prefer to only issue a single entry visa to cover you for the specific trip you are going on.

How do I apply for my visa?

A Schengen Visa is applied for at the Embassy or Consulate of the Schengen country or at a visa application centre.

Please note that applications for a Schengen Visa must be made prior to travelling.

Do I have to go in person to submit my Schengen visa application?

This depends on the particular country as each have different methods, For countries where we are able to we will submit on your behalf. Where you must go in person we will arrange the appointment for you.

Do I have pick up the visa in person?

Generally no – we will obtain the submission receipt, you are provided on submitting your Schengen visa application, from you and pick up your visa on your behalf.

How long will it take?

In general a visa application takes about 5 – 15 working days but it should be remembered that timing and acceptance or rejection is at the discretion of the particular Schengen consulate or embassy. It is always good advice to apply well in advance.

How long will my visa be valid for?

A Schengen visa allows the holder to travel freely within the Schengen countries for a maximum stay of up to 90 days in a 6 month period. Schengen Visa holders are not allowed to live permanently or work in Europe.

    To contact our experts please use the form below:

    Your Name (required)

    Email (required)

    Phone (required)

    Visa required for which country? (required)

    Date of departure from SA (required)

    Current Location (required)

    Your Message